ACODE has evolved from the following organisations:

1993 – The National Conference on Open and Distance Education (NCODE) was established to succeed the National Distance Education Conference set up by the then Department of Education, Employment and Training (DEET). The first meeting of NCODE was held on 12 October 1993, with DEET providing the secretariat.

1996 – As part of the process of defining the role and purpose of NCODE at a meeting in Yeppoon Queensland, the name was changed to the National Council on Open and Distance Education. Documents on the future directions for NCODE contained the following:

  • Vision Statement: To be recognised as the peak body for providing advice on policy relating to distance and open education and for sponsoring best practice and cooperation; and
  • Mission Statement: To provide high quality advice to major decision making bodies on the development of open and distance education and to promote excellence in open and distance education.

2000 – In December 2000, members voted to extend membership to universities in the region and change the name of the organisation to NCODE-Flexible Learning Australasia.

2002 – The name was later changed to the Australasian Council on Open, Distance and E-Learning (ACODE) in December 2002 to reflect the inclusion of New Zealand and other Australasian institutions in the membership and an increased emphasis on e-Learning.

2003 – ACODE signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL) and the Council of Australian University Directors of Information Technology (CAUDIT).

2012 – ACODE becomes a founding member of The Network of Australasian Tertiary Associations, a group resulting from an OLT-funded project with CADAD, ascilite, HERDSA and ODLAA.

Past Presidents

2007-2011 Gordon Suddaby

2012-2015 Helen Carter

2016-2019 Stephen Marshall

2020-2023 Michael Sankey

2024          Kate Ames